Board of Directors


Don Paproth (Chair)

B. Arts, Dip. Education

Don has had 48 years of experience in education, working as a Secondary Teacher, Principal, Deputy Regional Director, and as the director of major projects in the Gippsland region.  he has demonstrated a strong commitment to education, particularly mentoring new Principals and developing aspiring school leaders and was Chair of the Council of the Victorian Institute of Teaching.  Don has been the Chair of the BCH Board of Directors for the last three years, and is a member of the Development Council; Finance, Audit and Risk Committee and Remuneration Committee.

Christine Hammond (Deputy Chair)

Adv. Cert. Management, GAICD

Christine has extensive experience in business management in both public and private sectors, including 21 years in the health industry.  Christine is a former Director of Bass Coast Community Health Service and was appointed to the BCH Board in July 2014.  Christine served on the Project Control Group overseeing construction of the recently completed Phillip Island health Hub and is a member of BCH's Remuneration Committee and Chair of the Development Council.


Mary O'Connor

Mary is a business proprietor of three national franchise businesses and is President of Ambulance Victoria (Wonthaggi branch).  Holding active roles with Victoria Police, Rotary and within the criminal justice system, Mary is an appointed Justice of the Peace, with membership on the South Gippsland branch of Justices of the Peace.  Mary has experience in emergency management and high risk youth issues, as well as local government management as a past Councillor for the Bass Coast Shire Council.  Mary is a member of the Community Advisory Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Mim Kershaw

Mim has more than 31 years of management experience in both private and publicly listed companies, specializing in setting and achieving budgets; strategic planning; team development and retention; ethical sourcing; quality assurance and quality control.  A former Director of  Bass Coast Community Health Service, Mim was appointed to the BCH Board in July 2014 holding membership on the Development Council, as well as the Quality and Clinical Governance Committee.


Mary Whelan

B. Applied Science (Physiotherapy), Grad. Dip. Man. Therapy, Cert. Applied Ergonomics for Injury Management, Cert IV Workplace Training

Mary Whelan is a former clinical physiotherapist with 38 years experience in public health and private practice. She founded a company to design and develop mobility aides to address the needs of patients and the occupational health and safety of staff in hospitals and aged care facilities. Mary is the Chair of BCH's Quality & Clinical Governance Committee and a member of the Community Advisory Committee.


Nigel McCormick

Chartered Accountant, MA (Cantab), Dip. Management, GAICD

Nigel is a Chartered Accountant and a graduate of Cambridge University. He migrated to Australia from Northern Ireland in 2010 and is now an Australian citizen. Nigel has broad experience across the public sector including the education, water, social security, arts, regional infrastructure, emergency services and central government policy sectors. His career has encompassed a mixture of policy and finance roles including senior executive positions leading policy and legislation, program and project management and institutional reform and acting as Chief Financial Officer of various agencies and departments. Nigel is a member of the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.

Ian Thompson

B. Business (Accounting), Grad. Dip. Corporate Finance, CPA, GAICD

Ian is a risk professional with more than 30 years of experience in financial markets having worked in various credit, economic, quality, risk management and governance roles in Australia and the UK. Ian is a Senior Managing Director and Global Chief Credit Officer with leading global credit rating agency, Standard & Poor’s Rating Services. Ian is a Board member of Snowdome Foundation and an independent member of State Sport Centre Trust’s Audit & Risk committee and the Uniting Church’s (Vic & Tas Synod) Risk Management committee. Ian is a member of BCH’s Quality and Clinical Governance Committee; Development Council; and Chairs the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.


Kate McCullogh

 B. of Laws, B. Commerce (Accounting), Grad. Dip. Intellectual Property Law, Adv. Dip. Mechanical Engineering

Kate is an experienced legal practitioner with significant expertise in the health and disability sectors, having acted as legal counsel for a Victorian public health service, a pharmaceutical company, a not-for-profit disability service provider, and is currently General Counsel at Yooralla. Kate also has experience advising on commercial contracting, tendering and procurement, legislative and regulatory compliance, business acquisitions, asset sales, intellectual property, privacy and freedom of information matters. Kate was appointed to the BCH Board in July 2017 and is a member of the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.



Dr Richard King

B. Medicine B. Surgery (MBBS), Fellow Royal Australasian College of Physicians

Richard is an Honorary Physician at Monash Health, receiving the AM for services to medicine and teaching. Prior to retirement Richard was Head of Investigative Services and Pharmacy at Monash Health and prior to this Head of Medicine for 20 years. He is past Chair of the Council of AMA Victoria and past Chair of the State Committee of the College of Physicians. Richard is currently on the Board of Goulburn Valley Health and on the Board Quality Committee of the Northern Hospital. He chairs the DHHS Committee of Chairs of Board Quality Committee. Richard is a member of BCH’s Quality and Clinical Governance Committee.


Simon Jemmett

BHSc, Grad. Cert. Management, Dip Project Management, MAICD

Simon has more than 30 years of experience in health, initially working in the public and private hospital systems before moving to Ambulance Victoria where he is the current Regional Director (Gippsland). With a background as an intensive care paramedic, Simon also has substantial experience across metropolitan and rural sectors in clinical and operational management, education, audit and clinical governance. Simon sits on the Governance Committee for the Emergency Care Clinical Network. Simon is a member of BCH’s Quality and Clinical Governance Committee.



Ian Leong

B. Bldng (QS) (Hons), Grad. Dip. Comp. Sc., MBA

Ian is the Executive Director Redevelopment, Planning and Infrastructure of Melbourne’s Eye and Ear Hospital and has overarching responsibility for capital redevelopment and future strategy regarding health service delivery. This role has oversight of the 5 year redevelopment program, the model of care and physical works associated with the redevelopment and service planning. Ian is also a Board Director of the Australia College of Critical Care Nurses and a member of the Australian College of Optometry’s Finance & Risk Committee.